What is going on with Dickies work pants?

I am having one hell of a time trying to buy new Dickies work pants that fit. I’m buying exactly the same pants I’ve been wearing for nearly 13 years.

The last time I bought these pants at my current weight (~225 lbs) I bought pants with a 36-inch waist, and they fit perfectly. A few years ago, when I switched to a new job, the stress of that job contributed to my losing a lot of weight and I bought new, smaller-waisted pants. Now I’m back up to 225, and I’ve tried to buy the same exact pants again with a 36-inch waist, and they’re not even close to fitting.

I used to buy the pants at a locally-owned store, but more recently I’ve tried buying them at Walmart (both local store and online). But, I assume as part of trying to hit Walmart’s price points, these same pants sold there are slightly downgraded. They have a plastic, stitched-on button rather than the riveted metal button. On top of that, there are literally no size indications on the pants other than the paper adhesive sticker for store display purposes (the “good” version of these pants has the size on a sewn-in fabric label inside the waist of the pants), so when the Walmart Dickies didn’t fit, I just assumed they had been mislabeled.

So, screw it, back to the locally-owned store. I picked up a pair of these exact pants, with the riveted metal button and clearly-marked size sewn into them. 36 inches. I got them home and put them on and … I can’t get the button to within four inches of the buttonhole.

I thought that, well, maybe I weigh the same, but with age and time maybe my weight is just sitting lower than it used to. So I dug out my old, original 36-inch Dickies and tried them on. They fit perfectly.

WTF. I don’t think the old ones are just “stretched out”. These pants aren’t made out of an even remotely stretchy fabric, and additionally I only ever *lost *weight after I bought the old ones. I’ve never gone above 225.