What is this polygon called?

Is there a name for a three-sided polygon where each side is an arc whose center is the opposite vertex? In other words, imagine an equilateral triangle with curved sides.

A polygon has sides that are line segments. Polygons do not have curved sides. What you describe is not a polygon. (I am assuming we are talking Euclidean geometry here. Otherwise your polygon would be called a “triangle”.)

I just checked the dic, and by definition a polygon must have straight sides. I have never heard a name for the figure you describe, but I am no expert.

If you drew a triangle on a sphere, such that the triangle was large in porportion, it would appear like what you describe…but it would still be called a triangle.

Is this Polygon in Euclidean geometry or hyperbolic geometry?

What the OP is asking for is the name of the shape for the legendary three-sided wheel. This shape rolls smoothly around a central axis, despite its non-circular cross-section. In general, there is no name for such a shape that I have heard of, but some graphics people call figures with such sides “polyarcs,” so I suppose the OP is asking about a particular “triarc.” It’s not only “equilateral” (what would the right word for this be?), but the radius of arc is equal to the chord of the arc. Perhaps it should be named after the first person to describe the shape – does anyone know?

A Reuleaux triangle, or, a constant width curvilinear triangle.

It’s the answer to: What shape, other than a circle, won’t fall through a manhole if you make a manhole cover out of it? Click here.

Peace.

No, I’m not a genius, but a web search engine makes me look like one.

Equilateral literally means ‘equal sided.’ So, I guess it would be either: equiarckical; equicurvical; or, equiradial.

Peace.

bold mine

I’m almost positive that there are other curves of constant diameter, giving the lie to your statement of uniqueness.

<Sorta-Hijack>