What is your opinion of the Advanced Placement (AP) Program?

Revisiting this topic is kind of weird for me given that I graduated from high school nearly five years ago and the AP program no longer directly affects me in any meaningful way. Still, I’ve recently had to send for my old AP Exam scores so that they could be received by a nearby four-year uni, and so in that sense I continue to deal with the AP Program in some capacity. So with that in mind, then, what is your opinion of the Advanced Placement Program?

I’ll be honest with you guys, I’m not a big proponent of AP in general. I’ve consistently advised my younger sibling to avoid AP and to instead just undergo concurrent enrollment with the local (now my current) JC. Still, the tests I took in high school HAVE managed to help me at the college level, effectively by allowing me to avoid a handful of GE classes that I would’ve otherwise taken at JC. Moreover, they’ve cut down my time at the JC level by at least a year, which has certainly been nice as well.

The thing is, I just don’t think that the added rigor and workload of AP classes is worth the trade-off of a passing score on the given AP Exams. At least in my high school, students who had no business in this program were funneled into AP classes en masse for less-than-ideal reasons. Once there, we were all confronted by exceedingly difficult workloads that were far more rigorous than their college-level counterparts. Five-six hours of homework were given every night - including weekends - and the entire fiasco would repeat itself the following day.

I took and passed five AP Exams; this entailed four AP classes that I took in HS, in addition to an Exam in 12th grade that I passed simply through studying for it on my own. I knew of kids in my class who took twice as many classes and Exams, and I honestly can’t even comprehend how the hell they were able to pull that off.