What job finding sites have you had good luck with?

I was laid off from my job last month and need to find a new one fairly quickly. The job market is not nearly as hot as the last time I was in this position. I had always had good luck before with the big job sites like Monster.com and Hotjobs.com. I got plenty of replies back from companies and even found my two previous jobs through them. However, this time it is not working as well. I am wondering if I am using all of the right resources.

I am a Systems Analyst/Database Developer in the Boston area. I have my resume out on these job sites.

1. Monster.com
  2. Hotjobs.com
  3. Dice.com (niche contract opportunities)
  4. CareerBuilder.com

Do you know of any other good ones? I know that there may be some niche job sites out there that only certain people know of. Someone in the know referred me to dice.com and it has gotten me more responses than the others combined.

Are there any other, good, little-known resources for a technical guy like myself?

Hi Shagnasty. My brother told me about a site that he uses - www.job-hunt.org. I’ve seen jobs on there that weren’t on hotjobs.

Good luck!

I haven’t used it personally, but User Friendly promotes Geekfinder, and every now and then I see a good success story.

I came all into this thread ready to say that if you’re not in computers/IT, don’t bother with ANY of them. My experience was that they were only used by companies who wouldn’t hire a dog washer unless he had 6 years of Oracle experience.

But never mind.

Nerds Wanted and Geekfinder have given me good results in the past.
Dice is more designed for contract work; and I got my current position through FlipDog.

Just as a side comment, perhaps part of the problem is that the economy just sucks right now, and folks aren’t replying? I’ve been looking off and on since the start of April, and you can count the number of responses I’ve gotten on one hand.