What rock groups feature the most virtuosity among their members?

What I mean is this:

Take a given rock band … let’s use Queen as an example.

Then evaluate the virtuosity of each member of that band on their instrument(s) and/or voice,as applicable. Perhaps assign these evaluations to an arbitrary scale … the ever-popular 1-10 should do fine.

The add up the scores and average them.

So for Queen, I might score them as:

Mercury – 10
May – 9.5
Deacon – 7 (not a particularly confident rating, as I’m not a musician)
**Taylor ** – 7 (ditto)

Queen’s overall virtuosity rating, as an average of the ratings of its members, would be 8.375.

So, anyway, what bands would be on top of the heap of such a rating system? Would a band like Rush get a nice score for having two members of the group (Peart and Lee) who are legends on their instruments, and a third member (Lifeson) who appears on numerous “Underrated Guitarists” lists?

Might groups like the Eagles, Steely Dan, Toto, and Mr. Mister post solid scores? After all, most (or all?) of their members were (former) studio musicians who presumably relied on their musical virtuosity for their livelihoods (shifting lineups noted).

Songwriting should be a criteria as well.

Phish

Trey Anastasio --10.5 (ok, 10)
Mike Gordon – 9
Page McConnell – 8.5
Jon Fishman – 8

8.875 avg. Not too shabby. :wink:

Led Zep:

Plant: 7
Page: 10
Bonham: 10
Jones: 9 (extra points for versatility)

9.00. Solid.

The Classic Yes line up
Chris Squire Bass 10
Rick Wakeman Keyboards 10+
Steve Howe Guitar 9.5
Bruford Drums 10
Jon Anderson Vocals 9.5

ELP was also great

Yes Score would be 9.8

Someone else would have to break it down, But King Crimson was loaded with top talent.

Progressive Rock bands tended to have a lot of very good to great musicians to play the intricate music. (This would include Rush of course).