What scam would you pull, were you a terrible person?

I was just thinking that if I were inclined to be a total con artist, being a “pet psychic” would be an awesome gig. I know enough about animal handling and behavior to give some solid advice, I’m a decent enough writer to develop some extemporaneous fiction on the animal’s history based on known facts about current circumstances and behavior, and people will apparently shuck out stupid amounts of money over this business.
I just did a vendor event where one of my neighbors was a “pet psychic” who charged $60 for a thirty minute session. She was busy all day long!

So, Dopers, what shystery business do you have the skills for, had you a handful fewer scruples?

Ha! When I read the thread title I thought “Cold reading BS psychic!”
We could be partners. You could read the pets and I could talk to Grandpa from beyond.

… I’m seeing the letter R…

Better yet, you could ‘contact’ the pets’ ancestors! Who’s going to say you’re wrong?

I could see myself doing a Madoff style Ponzi scheme. Of course once I got enough money to live on for the rest of my life I would book it to some tropical country and leave everyone else holding the bag. Jail is for suckers.

Fortune telling. I already have the “strange lady with kinda-sorta gypsy like looks” part down.

How terrible a person do you mean here? Are we talking about preying on little old ladies’ social security money, or stealing from multi-millionaire CEOs? Because to my mind, there is a difference. Stealing is stealing, to be sure, but is there anyplace you would draw the line?

Well… not too terrible. I was thinking more along the lines of “shystery business model” rather than truly evil. Like selling Monster Cables, or woo-woo energy crystals with a bit of fuzziness around dodgy investment schemes, faith healing and the like. This was intended to be MPSIMS-style, rather than, you know, proposals of truly criminal activity :wink: