What should I try to learn during my time off?

I have until September 20th before school starts back up again. I’m a college student pursuing a major in Chemical Engineering. Instead of wasting my time at home I’d like to learn something valuable, the only issue being I’m not really sure what to do.

I am leaning toward learning to program. I’m given the impression that this is a valuable skill in engineering disciplines. I don’t have much experience besides a class is java, but I find it’s pretty interesting.

If I do try to learn programming what language should I pursue? What would be the most valuable? What resources should I refer to? Preferably, I would like to be able to pursue the beginning steps without making a financial investment.

So, anyone have recommendations?

Moved GQ --> IMHO.

Java is the main language in academia, and since you’ve already taken a class, you can improve your understanding of it. In fact, the Chemistry Development Kit (here) is written in Java.

There are plenty of free resources. For starters, you’ll need a Java Development Kit (JDK), which you can download here. For actual coding, you can use a super text editor (I recommend Notepad++) or a full integrated development environment (I recommend Eclipse).

To learn the theory and practice of Java, I’d recommend Thinking in Java, which is freely available online, or the Java tutorials here.