What was a fact about life that hit you the hardest when transitioning to high school and/or college?

For me, it was probably how hard the work can actually be. I was seen as “gifted” by my peers my whole life, but in reality all the work during my earlier years were piss easy. Since high school actually provides challenge with schoolwork and generally figuring out who you truly are, it’s all been somewhat of a pain in the ass to deal with.

I pretty much coasted through school until I graduated from high school. College was a whole different level and I didn’t expect that and didn’t adjust to it. Up through high school, teachers are pushing you to learn and succeed. But in college, the principle essentially becomes “We will offer you the opportunity to learn. But it’s up to you to do the work. We’re willing to let you fail if you don’t keep up.”

College was also a major change in lifestyle. I imagine I was like most people through high school; I lived at home and my parents provided for all of my basic necessities. College was the first time I was living independently and had to do things for myself.

For me, it was learning that others that found high school easy would find college difficult. I went to the same school as a number of high school classmates, including one of the valedictorians. But he struggled in calculus and physics and some engineering classes whereas I did not. It’s not that I found college easy, exactly–but it was finally interesting and that motivated me. High school stressed me out greatly due to the immense amount of busywork, which I could not be arsed to do most of the time. College lessened that. For the most part, the harder the class the better grade I got.

For me: how screwed you would be if you ended up with a horror of a teacher for any subject in 7th through 12th grades and also at university.