What would you do with 20K?

Firstly, hello dopers! I don’t post as often as before, but I do still enjoy visiting this website. My life has been busy in a good way.

I ask because I will soon have 20K saved up and I will be at a life crossroads. I have been a full time music teacher for almost 6 years. During those six years, my job has been both extremely frustrating, and also at times very rewarding. I have dreamed consistently over the past six years of doing something different with my life. And next year is the right time to make a big change. I will be turning 30, I have no kids, I own lots of musical equipment to pursue my music on my own time and in my own way. The job I am in is facing restructuring next year, so it looks time for me to leave it and move into the city so I no longer need to commute 1 1/2 hours every day.

I want to apply to the computer engineering program at my local university, however I seem to getting cold feet lately. I did one correspondence course in basic entry level computer programming and earned a 92%. I am currently working on a calculus class and plan to be finished by May 2012. I hope that would adequately prepare me for school.

I am thinking lately teaching may not be so bad if I were to land a better gig in the city without a commute. It certainly would be nice for my pocketbook! I could put the 20K towards a house, rather than tuition.

What would you do with me? I’ve had lots of crazy thoughts enter my head as well lately including:

1. Sub next year, spend the 20K on finishing my home recording studio into something professional. Forget the engineering plan and keep teaching and peforming.

2. Take a masters in Educational Technology, it’s kind of a flimsy tech program but it would match my degree well and I might be able to get a four year consulting job at the end of it (90K position) and it would put me in a position to be a principal someday.