What's like lychees?

I have a recipe that calls for lychees (fresh or tinned), and I can’t find the damn things anywhere! Anyone have any suggestions about what I should use instead?

They’re going in a sauce for egg noodles, the main other ingredients in the sauce being shallots, courgettes, and red pepper, if that makes any difference.

You could try rambutan, though if you’re in place that doesn’t have lychees, I doubt you can find rambutan either.

nothing’s like a lychee IMHO ( I prefer the fresh ones)

you can obtain canned ones at any good Oriental grocery store.

Not in Dublin, you can’t. Apparently.

Thanks for the suggestion though.

How about rambutans? As an unadventurous cook, I won’t try to advise you any further, (although I do find it a bit surprising that lychees can’t be found). No doubt one day after your dinner party or whatever, you will find yourself unable to avoid the things!

http://www.proscitech.com.au/trop/l.htm
Of course, it now occurs to me that if your shops don’t sell lychees, they may not sell other unusual fruits. Ooops! Best of luck.

I’ve only had the canned ones, and, as I recall they had a texture something like a canned pear, with a somewhat tarter taste. (It’s been compared to raspberries, but I dunno.)

That said, I’m really wondering where they would belong in the recipe you describe. Is it a sort of curryish thing? If so, you might be able to substitute some other fruit like mango, peach or pineapple.

Lychees are pretty darn unique, so substituting for them will be tricky. They are somewhat similar to green, peeled grapes. Nice firm, round ones could suit your purpose. They will at least at the texture and sweetness of lychees, if not the exact flavor.

Not really a curry thing. I’m just supposed to stir-fry the veggies for a few minutes and then pour them over my noodles. The idea of using pears instead is rather intriguing. Any other suggestions?

(and yes, sadly, it does appear that other exotic fruits are out.)