What's the legality of cannabis in The Netherlands?

I heard correctly or incorrectly that minuscule amounts are “tolerated”/police turn a blind eye to it however actual importation or an attempt to sell a marketable quantity is just as serious of an offense as in other European nations.

Is it also true that they passed a law penalizing shops that sold cannabis substances to foreigners. Do buyers need to show that they are Dutch citizens who are old enough to purchase the drugs.

What’s true and what’s fake?

I’m no expert on Dutch law so I’ll just post my experience:

I was just there in April. In the canal zone part of Amsterdam there are coffee shops all over that sell it, and the area just reeks of weed. So I’m fairly certain that it is tolerated by the authorities.

We didn’t go into any of them but I spoke with someone (from the U.S.) that did and they did not say anything about getting carded or anything. He was told that it is a big no-no to consume outside of the establishment in public.

One of the policemen I had a conversation with said the main prohibition is against harder drugs like heroin and cocaine. And when they detain someone for something the other big thing they are looking for is weapons.

I’m not entirely up to date about the specifics right now, but I’ll try to explain the general idea as far as I understand it.

Canabis is not legal, but it is officially tolerated which means it is policy for police not to do anything about use and/or possession of weed. Coffeeshops are allowed to sell a small amount for personal use and I believe they have a maximum they are allowed to have in their shop. You can either buy they weed, pre-rolled joints or maybe some space cake. In any case, these shops are not allowed to sell alcohol as well… although some places just have a bar and a separate room where they sell the weed.