What's the most ridiculous synonym for "employee"?

Starbucks has “baristas”. Sounds like a Latin American dictator to me.

Wal-Mart has “associates”. Right. Associates in…evil!

I’ve also heard “team member”, etc. What about you guys?

Pssst, Elwood – a barista is a person who specializes in making coffee drinks. Has nothing to do with employee status.

The one that cranks me is “Ask a Kinko’s co-worker for assistance.” I don’t work at Kinko’s, so the people who work there aren’t MY co-workers! (Or cow-orkers, or any other variation thereof.)

empowered subordinate partner

In Dilbertesque fashion, a manager where I work used to call people “resources.”

Zev Steinhardt

when i worked for barton security, they made a point of telling us that we were security officers, not security guards.
apparently our 2 days of training (which involved sitting in a room watching videos) made the difference.

I worked for a telemarketer for about a week after I graduated high school. Our employer called us “Marketing Representatives”.

But at least one of my “valued clients” called me something that rhymes with “socktucker” during a “sales contact” - so I decided to pursue a slightly better career while I started college.

Mall cookie maker!

A rep from Disney’s intern program visited my puppetry class, and told us that people who work for Disney are “cast members,” even if their job is to sell worthless crap to visitors.

I’d vote for “resource” – great, so am I down there with the paper clips, or have I managed to rise to the same level as the staplers?

The Pennsylvania-based restaurant chain Isaac’s refers to waiters/waitresses as waitrons. While the term may have existed previously, this is the first place I’ve encountered it.

Starbucks employees, including us baristas (baristae? baristi?) are “partners”.