When did you first get a cell phone?

I was reading the “Things that date movies” thread and wondering about this. I graduated from college in 1999 and it was still relatively rare in my circle of friends for someone to have a cell phone at that time. I got my first one in 2004 after a traffic breakdown where nobody stopped to help me for almost half an hour (in busy traffic) because I think everyone assumed I probably had a cell phone. These days it’s weird to find out that someone doesn’t have one. So I’m just generally wondering where the shift was.

I’m breaking the poll options into 3-year groupings just to make it less unwieldy. (More wieldy?) For purposes of the poll, just mark when you got your first cell phone, even if you don’t have one now, or there was a gap in ownership or whatever.

I got one in 1996 when I moved about an hour away from where I worked and was paranoid about all the driving with a toddler in the car. I rarely used it; it was $19.95 a month, plus .25 a minute. My bill was usually $30 for a few very short calls a month. I got out of my 2-year contract about six months early and did without a cell phone a few years.

I didn’t permanently get a cell phone until September 2001. It started seeming really necessary about that time to always be able to be in touch with people. I kept the plan I got that day until I got an iPhone last summer.

I got mine in 2008, but only because someone insisted on it. I use it maybe 3 times a year.

I signed up for Verizon’s prepaid service back in 2002. It works great, but I don’t use it all that much. I think I have almost $600 in credit.

1. One of the good ol’ original flip phones.

I think service was like 15-20 bucks a month plus .15 to .30 a minute and roaming charges (oh those roaming charges).