Where should I go to graduate school?

Well folks, I majored in Philosophy at SMU and now I want to go to graduate school…I’m just not sure where!

My intention is to become a professor, so I want to hear about Ph.D. programs, not M.A.

I’m not really interested in epistemology or phil. of mind. I love ethics and I get excited about ancient philosophy too (don’t ask me why.)

So let’s get started! Where did you do your graduate work? Do you teach now? What schools should I look into?

I am not up on where the good Philosophy programs are; I am sure there are rankings books which will tell you.

One thing to be cautious of just now are budget cuts. Many states are having budget problems, and they are cutting funding for public universities. Some schools are really having to slash-n-burn (Iowa comes to mind) and morale and resources can take a dive when that happens. I don’t know that I’d want to be a new doctoral student in that environment. Bitter faculty are not fun to work with.

Well, I’m a grad student in English and I don’t know anything about programs in philosophy, but here’s some general advice on how to make the decision:

1. Talk to your undergrad profs, the more the better. (And make sure you talk to some younger ones – you want to know what the programs are like now, not forty years ago.) They’ll usually tell you a great deal about faculty and reputation, but less about student life, which is where the other two steps come in:

2. Don’t forget about practicalities: where you want (and can afford) to live, how much the tuition will be, what sort of financial support various departments can offer, etc. (Looking back on it, my biggest mistake was assuming all of this stuff would take care of itself. It doesn’t.)