Who do you think the most underrated rock guitarist is?

I’m a musician. (Current economy makes that unfortunate…) I grew up on classic rock and metal. I love all genres except maybe avant garde jazz.

In rock and roll, who is the most underrated guitarist? I’m talking about band wise, no solo artists.

For me, it’s a toss up between Alex Lifeson and Brian May.

What about you guys and gals?

Nancy Wilson of Heart
Prince (hey he was with The Revolution and NPG)
Lindsey Buckingham of Fleetwood Mac
John Frusciante of RHCP

I’m not a musician, so I don’t really know who is underrated in musician’s circles, but Tom Morello of Rage Against the Machine might qualify. He seems an awesome guitarist to my ears, totally defines the RatM sound. I want to say he’s very innovative, but don’t know if musician’s would agree. Maybe in avante-garde jazz terms he’s an arch conservative. Anyhow, given that Rage are (were) not your typical rock band and he has a different sort of sound, I don’t hear his name thrown around in ‘greatest guitatists of the past 10 years’ discussions.

Does Johnny Marr count? Because when most people think of guitar bands, The Smiths isn’t what pops into their minds…but damn.

Tony Iommi doesn’t get anywhere near the recognition he should get for being as influential as he’s been.

I agree that Alex Lifeson is pretty underrated too.

How is Brian May underrated? He’s worshipped by music fans. He’s considered one of the greatest rock guitarists by a hell of a lot of people I know, and I read articles about him all the time. I think he gets all the recognition he deserves.

Damn, all of you have GREAT answers. I’ll have to expand my mental list on this! :smiley:

John Fruciante, Tony Iommi deserve kudos especially. Damn, Iommi’s tracks were so rough and live, he sets a metal standard too, Dio, you’re right on that one. Lindsey was unique at almost everything. His country picking finger style, especially on ‘Gypsy’ is fantastic.