Who knows about Philadelphia cheesesteaks?

I’ll be traveling to Philadelphia next month. High on my list is to enjoy an authentic Philly Cheesesteak.

I know there is Pat’s and Geno’s. I know there’s provolone and Whiz.

But that’s about all I know. So guide me, Cheesesteak experts. If I have time to grab just one…

Pat’s or Geno’s?

Provolone or Whiz?

Toppings?

Remember, I want the authentic sandwich.

Thanks,
mmm

I do. I ought to, I’ve been making them for 16 years.

If you want the absolutely, day one original cheesesteak, go to Pat’s and get a provolone with onions. Some people will say that Cheez Whiz is on the original steak, but Pat’s was open for a long time before Cheez Whiz was ever invented. If you feel that you must, get sweet peppers or mushrooms, but it’s best if you just stick to onions.

That said, avoid Pat’s and Geno’s. Pat’s is OK, but not great. Geno’s has much thicker steak, which makes for a very different sandwich. If you want the best in Philadelphia, go to Tony Luke’s on Oregon Avenue. The others are tourist traps.

One other thing: if you want to be cool, when you go to order it say you want a “Provy with”, the “correct” way to order a provolone with onions. Whatever you do, don’t be hesitant, because they will send you to the back of the line if they’re busy. Nothing personal, just business.

thinly sliced ribeye is seared on a flat pan. brown or gray the meat so as to leave no pink surface. put some salt and pepper. set aside. soutee onions (add mushrooms if you like) till translucent. now mix the onions with the meat and arrange them in long rectangles on the pan (the shape they will take when put in a sliced bun.) you then top those rectangles with some cheese (american cheese is the easiest.) as soon as the cheese melts you shovel that whole thing onto your sliced bun.