Who's familiar with Symbolic Logic by Copi?

I can’t find anything in Copi which disallows the following inference:

(x)(Ey)Bxy
therefore, (Ey)Byy, by Universal Instantiation

But unless I’m horribly confused, this inference is invalid.

So… what am I missing in the Copi text, if anything?

Thanks,

-FrL-

I don’t have copy of Copi (my class used Edgerton) but . . .
Are x and y both free variables? Is y dependent on x?
Here’s an example of why your inference may be wrong and I’m assuming B is a general proposition such as Bxy = x < y in the universe of the Naturals
Clearly the proposition x (Ey) Bxy is true by assigning y = x+1 but Byy is clearly not true.

Take a look at
http://www.cs.odu.edu/~toida/nerzic/content/logic/pred_logic/inference/univ_inst.html
It discusses exactly the error you’re making.

I also don’t know the specific text, but this would be simply disallowed by the form of predicate logic that I studied in school, along the following lines.

• You cannot universally instantiate x to another variable, only an atom (?) (Not quite sure of the vocab any more.) So you could go to (Ey)Bay or something like that.

• Now you can try to instantiate y, but the rules of existential instantiation keep you from using an atom that already exists. Therefore you’d get to Bac or something like that.

• You can re-introduce the existentials at this point, but since the atoms are different you’d end up with something like (Ew)(Ez)Bzw , which is not what you were trying to go for.

• And note that trying to instantiate y before x is also not allowed – you have to get rid of the variable quantifiers from the outside in, from left to right within a given term.

• To prove (Ez)Bzz or something similar, you would probably need to introduce existential quantification from something like Bdd

I don’t know if this makes any sense at all in Copi, but I thought I’d try going over it.