Why all the coverage of OpenAI's management shenanigans?

So I’m pretty bemused but the intense coverage about the goings on at OpenAI both in the technology press and the mainstream press (I was getting push notifications about it on the BBC app FFS!)

I’ve been working in tech for 25 years at huge multinationals and startups this kind of thing seems completely routine to me. I can’t tell you how many times i’ve the heard our CEO give a rousing speech at an.all hands about how we are going move forward together, cos we are a great team, with a wonderful culture, yada, yada, yada. Only to jump ship or to be fired shortly afterwards out of the blue. Why am I hearing about this like it was a coup d’etat in a major country not a routine (or at the at least not completely extraordinary) management shake up at a medium sized company?

It’s not like OpenAI are a particularly large company, we aren’t talking Apple or Google here. I get they are are the “tip of the spear” of the AI zeitgeist with ChatGPT, but still they made about a quarter of the revenue of the company I work for, and BBC aren’t sending me push notifications for a blow-by-blow about my company’s management reshuffles.

The press is in a “ChatGTP is Skynet and will kill us all” panic.

OpenAI has a valuation of 90 billion and has 770 employees. Its product had the fastest adoption of any tech release in history. It’s no longer a small startup (not that it ever was - it was started with $100 million from Elon Musk).