Why is Green an unlucky colour?

Here is the question, why is it considered in Britain unlucky to wear green?
I have done some google searches but all I seem to find are a couple of american pages claiming it is so as not to insult the faeries. This seems to me to be a trite answer and I was hoping for a more rational one along the lines of bread poltice works because mold has penicilin, get me?
I was wondering, although this is my own specualtion, as to weather green denoted a rank in society, expensive dye/pigment type idea as with renaissance madonna images…any clues?

:eek:

Well, the dye used to make bright green in colonial times (pickrik, not sure if that’s spelled right) was highly flammable and apparently it was not so uncomon in Colonial days for a lass to be permanently scarred when dress met open flame.

In fact, when I was a student at William & Mary (which is located in Colonial Williamsburg, VA, a large open air museum of Colonial America) a vial of Pickrik was found in the Chemistry building and they evacuated the whole building and a 50 yard radius till it could be removed safely.

Thats interesting, however the tradition I am refering to is ancient, didn’t they use walnuts or something for dye?

According to this you get light brown from walnut, but you can get forest green from chicory.

Actually, I’d never heard that green was bad luck… is that a British tradition?

Very very vauge one, lots of people have never heard of it, I believe that you get it in Eire too

When I was planning my wedding, I was told that green was unlucky because it attracts faeries who might be tempted to play tricks on the wedding party. Same concept as the bridesmaids getting all dressed up – they distract faeries and spirits from the bride and confuse them about who to pick on.

PS, it was an Irish superstition when it was told to me. I had an Irish-themed wedding. (But I went with the green, anway.)