Why is Iran launching this attack on Israel

Can anyone explain why Iran is doing this?

Israel killed an Iranian general.

A few days ago Israel bombed an Iranian embassy in Damascus, Syria.

Bombing an embassy is generally consider an act of war.

This is the Iranian response.

The proximate cause is an attack Israel launched against the Iranian embassy in Syria, resulting in the death of an Iranian general. The ultimate causes (why Israel launched that attack and why that Iranian general was where he was) are very complicated. I don’t pretend to understand it all, an O think it’s the subject for another thread.

I have the same question, and I think it’s very pertinent to this thread. All I know about the background is that Israel attacked the Iranian embassy in Damascus. This fact in isolation without further explanation makes it seem like Israel started this with an unprovoked attack. I’m sure this is not the case but I have no idea what the background is.

It has to do with religious hatred. Although exactly why they have that hatred makes no sense to me, so I can’t explain it.

ETA. It’s my understanding it has something to do with the Iranian revolution. But that just goes back to what seems to me to be non-sensical religious hatred, because again IMHO Iran was a much better country before the Ayatollahs, so the only reason to have supported them would be due to religious fundamentalism.

Ah, OK - Iran has long been backing people like Hamas and Hezbollah which, aside from that attack by Hamas on Israelis a couple months ago, both of those groups have been taking pot-shots at Israel for years. With a recent uptick of frequency in the past couple months.

Really, you can take this sort of animosity of one group towards another in the area back thousands of years. How far back do you want to go?

And each step back reverses the direction the finger is pointing. It’s maddening.
And it works the same way forward in time.

Did Israel admit to this ?