Why it is wrong to litter

A long time ago, in a galaxy far away I stated that I felt that if a person litters, that they should be sterilized.

Someone who apparently supports littering questioned my reasoning, and I want to take this opportunity to elaborate. If a person litters, he/she will teach that behavior to their children. A child who perceives that it is OK to be a litterbug is uncontrollable, and will littler the countryside with fast food wrappers, nsync albums, and stuffed orangutans.

I have children and love them dearly but they must be taught not to litter and how to pick up after themselves or they are a pain in the ass to be around.

Not that it is relevant, but I am a materials scientist with biodegradability experience dating back to 1988. But it doesn’t take any experience to figure out that littering is very very wrong and anyone who believes otherwise is a hoser.

I have no problem with fast food be it hot dogs or deep fried chicken. When you start tossing those wrapper on the ground then Yeah, I have a problem with that and you should too.

While I agree with you 100% that littering is wrong, sterilization does seem to be…um, a bit too much punishment for the crime.

I wish for those caught littering (1st offense) should have to spend a couple of months of weekends cleaning up roadside litter. Second offense should be six months of weekends. And so on.

Oh Waverly…I love you. But you are asking for a nightmare.

But damn if I didn’t laugh at the OP.

I believe I used my godlike powers to state it absolutely no uncertain terms in the OP, but for you I will try to use smaller words.

If you toss a paper on the ground and Johny sees this, Johny will believe it is OK and grow up to be Johnny Litterbug. Got that?