Women: Would Cutting Your Hair Be A Punishment To You

I’ve been watching the best soap opera in the world, from Australia called Prisoner (Prisoner: Cell Block H) and several times (Chrissie, Sharon, Angel, Lexie) one of the “bad” prisoners gets on the wrong side of the “good” prisoners and gets their hair cut off as a punishment.

While I guess this would instill fear, having scissors so close to your head and would carry a lasting humiliation, as opposed to getting thumped, which is pretty much over with, I always thought it was a pretty “light” way of driving home a point.

I know after WWII they shaved the heads of women who co-operated with the Nazis as a punishment.

So my question to women of the Straight Dope is would having your hair cut off be such a horrible punishment to you?

I think it’d be pretty humiliating depending on the context, though I’d prefer it to being beaten with a big stick.

When I was a student (in Korean school) teachers would roam the halls with scissors. If your hair was longer than what was regulated, they’d grab you and hack off a huge chunk, so you’d be forced to get it cut shorter than the regulated length in order to even it out. That was extremely unpleasant and degrading, but pretty effective in getting the students to toe the line in regard to their hair length.

The actual action could be horrible, the helplessness of the situation you describe. The knowledge that “this is all we did but we could have done much, much worse”.

The actual haircut? Not unless it was the dead of winter - but then, the biggest reason I’ve never gone to a barber and asked for a full shave (I feel really curious about what my skull looks like and if a certain bump I used to have has disappeared) is that “it isn’t professional”. I’m not particularly fond of my locks; they’re just there, like my navel.