Work/project question: should I keep my trap shut?

I’m a senior level business analyst, sort of an unofficial team lead, but not officially. I’m on a very large project part time, training another business analyst who we recently hired. She’s very good, smart and definitely also has senior level skills. Our industry is very hard to learn, though, it takes time. Up to several years, and she’s only been here for a few months. I recently got a bunch of other stuff dropped on me with a short deadline so had to back away from the project, although I told her I would answer any questions she had and continue to help her as much as I could. But she’s attending all the meetings and doing all of the documentation herself.

There is another person, an official lead who is sort of “in charge” of the project from the business team’s perspective. (We’re very loosey goosey here, with no real understanding of project management.) From the beginning he’s been spread super thin on multiple projects so if he attends the meetings for this project, he usually has his head down in his laptop working on other things and not paying attention unless someone says his name. A few months ago my mentee and I told him that we weren’t able to keep up with the workload of that one project so asked for some help. He assigned a third BA to help us.

She occasionally attends meetings but rarely speaks. A few times my mentee has delegated some work to her - which she never does so my mentee ends up doing it. My mentee has told me that sometimes she works until 10pm or works weekends trying to get the work done and she said that in the last meeting the project manager was getting on her case about not having requirements done in time. He was making it sound like it was all on her, so she’s frustrated and was venting to me earlier today (which is okay, I’m here to support her).