Work Question

I am a salaried professional. I work in the medical field in a small office, 40+ hours a week and have Mondays off. When there is a Monday holiday and the office is closed do not receive additional compensation of any type.
My significant other and I have a difference of opinion as to whether or not there should be some form of compensation such as another day off, since many legal holidays are Mondays. I am posting this in what I believe to be an impartial fashion to get the opinion of fellow dopers.
Your input is greatly appreciated.

Abisha

Some businesses give paid holidays, and some give unpaid. I don’t know what the federal laws are, but I don’t think private businesses have to even give any holidays off, let alone paid time off for them. It is generally a perk that employers offer in order to attract better talent.

I would offer you a float day off. That’s how we’ve always done it in every office I’ve worked in.

Holidays are just that, days off from work. Some businesses have salaried employees and some have hourly employees and some have both. Frequently hourly employees have to work the holiday for the same business that gives office employees e.g. the day off with pay. It obviously is not fair to have some work and some not work for the same pay. Thus holiday pay was established, to make up to those who work the holiday for the inconvenience of never being with their families to celebrate the holiday. Instead of 40 hours of pay they get an extra 8 (sometimes 12) to compensate for working when everyone else is off. If you are getting only 40 hours pay and working the holiday I would say you are getting screwed. Otherwise you are not.