X-Com still rocks (Classic games you're playing now...)

Do any of you guys remember this game? The original? With Sectoids and Floaters and Mutons? (Oh my!) Well, I recently started playing it again… I’m currently working on blaster bombs, and already have flying suits and heavy plasma rifles.

I still remember my favorite “tactics”…

• Using a blaster to rip a hole open in the top of a UFO, followed by more bombs or a grenade, and then sending my squaddies with flying suits in.

• Using Psi weapons and marching all the aliens around in formation. (And maybe one just happens to drop a live grenade.)

Does anybody else have fond memories of sending your commander stepping around a corner, only to jump out of your chair when he gets shot at or finds himself standing next to a Chrysalid?

Is anybody else playing classic games lately?

(I also pulled out Buzz Aldrin’s Race Into Space…)

I seem to love the classic games more than a lot of the fancier new ones.

I have a color GameBoy that I don’t think has ever had anything but Tetris in it. In my nifty high-tech Playstation 2 right now I have “Namco Museum”, a collection of vintage 1983 games (my favorite: Dig-Dug), and if you and your friends ever are stuck in the house on a rainy day there’s nothing better than a vintage 1982 Atari 2600 with a “Combat” cartrage in it and a box of cheap wine.

X-Com totally rocked. I have the third installment lying around here somewhere and still haven’t played it though. It would not run on the integrated video card in my PC. I got a new video card a couple weeks ago though. Guess what I’m going to do! Thanks for the reminder. Woohoo !

I am the Dig-Dug master. The movie theater here just got a new version of Dig-Dug (part of an arcade game with dig-dug, pacman, and some racing game), and i cannot resist it’s siren song. At least that game is still only a quarter! (as opposed to the $1.00 for the star wars games)