You can't fire me; I'm a volunteer

As I’ve mentioned a few times previously, I’m a message board moderator over at the ACLU boards. All of the volunteers got word today that in the very near future our services will no longer be required. This was apparently in the works for several months, and this is the first any of us have heard about it.

I’m of deeply mixed feelings about this. I’ve been volunteering on the boards for something like eight years. Good lord, in sitting here typing this up this is the first I realized that. Eight years I’ve been doing this. I hooked up with the boards back when they were on AOL, and to be honest at first they were just a way of exchanging a few hours of labor a week for a free ulimited AOL account. As I got to know some of the regulars there that changed. There were some I looked forward to reading and some that I struggled very hard with my desire to lash out at them through my position because they were such bastards. I’m pleased to say that in all that time I never lost that struggle, and while there may be some who tell it different, I can honestly say that I don’t believe there was a single time I treated a poster unfairly or unreasonably based on the rules of the board as I understood them.

Eventually AOL kicked us to the curb as they did with so many of their popular yet non-revenue-generating forums (but I don’t have to tell the old-timers here about that). AOL pretty much hated us anyway because the ACLU’s contract required that Terms of Service against language not apply to our “free speech zone” chat rooms and message boards. Our forum was the only place on AOL where anyone could say “fuck” with impugnity, and dammit, we were proud of that; we fought for it and won more than one battle with “Guides” who tried to polce our members.

We moved temporarily to some boards which were still accessible through AOL then finally completely to the ACLU site.