Your resemblance to your same sex parent at your current age.

Do you at your current age resemble your same sex parent when they were the same age? Are you ordinarily considered to take after said parent?

Me: Male, 29. Yes. No

Looking at the picture, my complexion is lighter, he has curly hair to my straight and I am a slightly plump lawyer to his uber fit Army officer, but if you juxtapose the picture you would assume a close relation.

Not even a little bit. We work together and I constantly get confused for him on the phone. Even when his friends call, they’ll start talking (often times with way TMI) until I stop them, but IRL, I look nothing like him. I look slightly like his brother (whose taller and skinnier, but that might be the facial hair. If my mom had brothers, I’d probably look like them.

For a good comparison, when I was in college I found a picture of my dad from when he was about my age, he looked exactly like Hyde from That 70’s Show. I was probably closer to Eric Foreman.

The only things I got from my mom lookswise are the gap between my front teeth, chubby thighs, and a tendency to bruise easily. Otherwise I look just like my dad, and lately when I look in the mirror I’m shocked to see my paternal grandma.

A lot like my father. He and I resemble each other more than we resemble other members of our family. Both my brothers look much more like their cousins, uncles, and grandfather. My relatives of his generation have always commented on how much I look like him, and now I hear how much my older son looks like me. People often say my younger son looks like me even though he’s not biologically related.

For interesting ideas of what constitutes resemblance you can see this thread.

Male, 63. Although I have some of my father’s features I’ve never really resembled him at any age. Same goes for my mother, fwiw.

I do resemble my mother’s father.