Your "safety" and "reach" schools

When you applied to college (in the US), what were your “reach” and “safety” schools?

reach=You fall just short of their criteria, applied anyway
safety=Comfortably meet criteria, prefer better school

I knew that I wanted to go to UF and I knew that I could get into UF. It was the only school I applied to.

I had dreams of going to Penn State or UCLA. After taking the SATs it became apparent I couldn’t even afford to apply to those schools, much less afford the tuition. Applied to U of Md, for the instate tuition, plus it was a very good engineering school, especially for Aero which I majored in. (This was 1981 timeframe)

UF grad here as well. It wasn’t the only school that I was accepted to attend, however it was a great choice for me!! Go gators:)

My parents could afford state college. There was one nearby. I applied there. No question I would get in. No need to apply elsewhere.

I’d already been approached by the University of Houston about scholarships and the like, so that was my safety school, since I grew up in Houston and could stay at home with the folks if need be.

My reach school was Harvard, IIRC. Don’t remember if I was denied or wait-listed; I didn’t have any real intention to go there unless I somehow was accepted and got a colossal amount of student aid.

I ended up going to Texas A&M because they had the same scholarships as the other state schools like UT, and I had some family history there.

My reach school was Oxford, my safety school Cornell. I was an arrogant little shit. :slight_smile:

I had good grades, good test scores, and a good-looking high school transcript. I got accepted at every school I applied to, but ultimately it came down to what could I afford, and that was Salisbury State and Maryland (I also applied to Penn State, Hofstra, and Boston College).

I applied to a bunch of schools in the UC system, and got into every one of them. :smiley: