The new UPS "logistics" commercial

The UPS “Logistics” commercial.

They took a truly wonderful song, *That’s Amore, *and turned it into a jingle sung with no inflection and no feeling whatsoever . . . exactly the opposite of the way it should be sung.

I loathe this commercial and wish I could just not hear it again. If I ever had a reason to use Logistics’ services, this would convince me not to.

I totally disagree with panache45. I’m a musician who writes and performs pop tunes and the UPS piece is a masterwork in terms of messaging.

This is a commercial. The girls voice is sweet, with life, and an energy similar to the girls voice who does the Cisco commercials - i.e. you hear it and you pay attention.

The lyric rewrite is clever and makes succinct, understandable points

• “Carbon footprint reduced - bottom line gets a boost”

The orchestration builds nicely in a very Beatlesque fashion - (mellotron flutes ala
“Strawberry fields”)

The commercial balances the imagery and the message with the audio so the song doesn’t overpower the message, and turns the subject matter , “Logistics” from something noone would generally care about into something thought provoking.

And the message is absolutely true - no lies - no real embellishments.

I think this is the best ad I’ve seen in years and it makes me feel much more positive about UPS - this is what they do and it has value and they do it well and they had the viewpoint and creativity to get the message across.

Why would you expect inflection and feeling from a song about Logistics? The original had lyrics that flow freely and effortless, but this one is a big word jumble that needs to be ar-tic-u-la-ted clear-ly to get the message across. For the purpose of the ad, it works great, but nobody would confuse it with a candlelight & romance song.

Have to agree with MrQuestion’s analysis.

This is a song which contains original lyrics such as:

“When the moon hits your eye like a big-a pizza pie, that’s amore!”