A job dilemma- should I stay or should I go, now?

Okay, this is weird. For the first time in my life, I have a really great job, with great benefits, great pay, and I’m in a great location. Seriously, the stars have aligned. About time, too- I’ve had some really stinky jobs in the past.

The problem? I’m actually wondering if I should find another job.

I work in the computer game industry. I’ve gotten myself into a very specialized job- one which a lot of companies need, but few people do (and even fewer do well).

I’ve been at this company for almost a year-and-a-half. We’re just about to finish the game we’ve been working on. I’m well liked and well respected, here, and I’ve managed to set it up so that I’m effectively my own boss- I head my own division, and I’m the only IN that division. I love what I do, and- all modesty aside- I do a VERY good job at it. I’m well paid, and I just received a raise AND a promotion- so the company obviously appreciates me. Early previews of the game have specifically mentioned my work- always good for the ol’ ego. The town I live in is, simply put, wonderful- it’s a small town, with tons to do outside, and it’s very dog-friendly (which is good, as I have three).

However…

1. I can’t afford a house. House prices are skyrocketing here- and, thanks to a relatively recent bankruptcy and the house that I still own (and am renting out, 'til the tenants get financing to buy) in my previous town, buying a house is going to be very, very difficult. We’re renting right now- but we have to move out in just a few months, and I’m fairly certain we’re going to have to move into another rental. I hate moving- and, if we’re able to buy a house later on during the year, we’ll have to move yet again. And house prices just keep climbing…

2. My wife can’t find work. She’s tried ever since we moved here, but she just can’t find good work. She’s now going back to school.