A Proposal to the Board (if possible)

WHEREAS, many of the our brethren amongst the TM suffer from typos and incontinent editing, and,

WHEREAS, it is known to the petitioner from participation on another UBB board that at least part of said proposed change is possible,

PETITIONER INQUIRES as to the possibility of allowing, in addition to moderators, originating posters the ability to edit a post.

Coming down now (G*d, for a minute I thought I was a lawyer!), let me say that another board I have frequented (much less so since becoming a, dare I say it(?), ‘reg’ here) allows both the poster and the admin folk to edit a post. This other board is a computer give and take scenario and has almost no (I’ve never seen it) trolling. So they have not suffered from the situation I’ve never seen, but have heard described here, where on a board allowing editing a troll might phrase a question to inflame and edit it back to make the respondents seem out of line. This board might well be subject to such.

So, a modest proposal (once again, if possible): since I know the UBB software allows for setting up a condition wherein the originator of a post as well as admins can edit same, and the condition exists amongst many otherwise intelligent posters of posting with incomplete editing, typos, misspellings we kind of had a funny feeling about, etc., is it possible to allow the original poster something like 10 minutes to go back and edit that post to clarity?

As some sort of artistic statement, I’m not going to reread this before I frolic 'round the SUBMIT button.

Regards