About your first name

I just got a call from a realtor interested in earning a commission helping me sell my mother’s house. The call began, “Hello, is this [my first name]? I am a realtor with …” click.
       My best friends are vultures, who make these people look ugly. I understand their need to pursue a living, but it sure can get annoying.
       The most irksome thing to me, though, is the friendly, familiar tone they start out with. It seems a bit rude to just right-off address a stranger by their first name without being invited to do so. I am a fairly laid-back person, but also a little old-fashioned. Being address as Mr. [my last name] feels a bit stodgy, but at least it does not sound like being talked down to.
       Hanging up on someone does seem impolite, but in a way it is not. I do not want to waste my time leaving a wisp of hope or waste their time on a fruitless enterprise, so I think it really is a mercy.

Feel free to excoriate me for being a jerk.

Sales calls are rude and intrusive just by their very nature.

Lately we’ve been getting 3-4 calls a week asking us if we are interested in selling our house. No, we are not. I’ve told my husband to just not bother answering the phone at all unless it is a number he recognizes.

We’re lucky that we get a lot of flyers in our mailbox about selling our house, but no phone calls (that I know of).

I do remember once getting a call about asking if we want to refinance, which we declined. We got a really good deal when we bought this house because of the way the market was at the time and it’s just not beneficial to us.

I agree 100%.

It would be rude to hang up on them if you had called them. They did not seek your permission for the interaction, and you’re free to decline as abruptly as you like. I usually say, “sorry, I’m not interested” as I hang up, but doing so involves talking over their protracted scripted spiel, so I doubt if they perceive it.