Ah, the joys of the Georgia Lege!

The Georgia state senate is debating something called the “Woman’s Right to Know Act”, which requires that women who want to have abortions be told about “the physical and emotional risks of having an abortion”; that they can have the baby and put it up for adoption; that they’ll burn in hell if they have an abortion; and so forth. (OK, I made up that last one.) (I think.) Anyway, in the article on this in today’s Atlanta Journal-Constitution I found this gem:

:smack:

Not merely a state senator, but…A physician?!?

Not being a physician myself, I would have naively thought that women who are raped might, ceteris paribus, even have a greater chance of getting pregnant, not having had a chance to “prepare their bodies” with assorted wicked and unnatural devices and potions for defying God’s commandment to be fruitful and multiply, but of course I’m not a state senator, so what do I know?

The worst part of it is, I can’t even express the unqualified desire that the people of Dalton and the surrounding area un-elect Sen. Dr. Thomas at the first opportunity, ‘cause if they chuck the fool, he presumably will just have more time to devote to his medical practice. Maybe he’s just a heart surgeon or, I dunno, a podiatrist or something; but I have this terrible dread that he’s some kind of general practice regular doctor, though. "A prescription for birth control pills? Now, darlin’, why would you want a thing like that? Oh, don’t worry about birth control, honey. You can’t get pregnant if he doesn’t buy you dinner first."

(He can’t be a gynecologist… Right? Please?)