Ahem...How illegal IS this?

When shoe~shopping, a friend of mine…
Ummm…

:o

OK, this question is about [sub]me.[/sub] My left foot is a full size bigger than my right foot. So when I go shoe~shopping, I sometimes switch shoes so I get one size 8 and one size 9. I don’t put the remaining mismatched shoes in a box (I don’t want someone else to go through the hassle of returning shoes.) I leave them neatly & artfully arranged. I mean, I take two shoes, and pay for two shoes…

My name isn’t Carina, I don’t live in Denver and I don’t paint houses. I’m a small man named Trevor, I live in Biloxi, Mississippi, and I repair old Wurlitzers for a living. [sub]really.[/sub]

So is my friend going to hell?

Well, I hate to break it to you, but that’s entirely illegal. Even if you artfully arrange the evidence, you’ve still essentially stolen a pair of shoes (they can’t really sell a mismatched set.)

I think you may be seeing some karma action for this one. :frowning:

I don’t agree with monkey on the illegality part. Strikes me as a bit of a grey area (after all, they sell shoes by the pair[/], meaning two shoes, right? They don’t specify which two shoes make up the pair…).

However, I do suspect there is some karmic consequences to come. Probably the next time you buy a new set of tires for your car you’ll drive home only to find one of them is one of those nutty little spares you get in compact cars.

part of this bad karma will come in the form of crummy VB code practices!! Repent!

Here’s a potential solution that will keep you out of the hoosegow and ease your conscience:

Find someone who has exactly the same taste in shoes that you do but has a size 9 right and a size 8 left! Take them with you whenever you buy shoes.

Do you see now how seemingly difficult problems actually have simple solutions?