Anybody dealing with bursitis and/or arthritis of the hip?

My hip is normally a little tetchy, but it has flared up real good, and has been swollen and very sore for a week now. The doctor said it is likely either bursitis or arthritis (the x-ray of my hip should be in sometime next week, so he’ll be able to see if there is any degeneration). I’m 38 years old, by the way. The doctor has me started on anti-inflammatory drugs (Arthrotek75 mg twice a day), I put a cold compress on a couple times a day, I’m trying to stay off of it, and I bought myself a cane. :frowning:

So, what can I expect of this? Am I ever going to walk normally again, or should I get used to my leetle friend, the stupid cane? Is there a reason for this? Is there anything more I can do for it? What are your experiences with a bad hip?

I’m not a doctor, except for a bullshit honorary DD, nor am I a physical therapist.

When I had hip bursitis, my doc sent me to phys therapy. They told me the muscles surrounding (and bearing on) the bursa were too tight and short. So, they taught me:

The hamstring stretch. Lie on your back and bring your leg up to vertical, or as close as you can without pain.

The front part stretch. Do a lunge (one leg bent in front, the other leg straight behind you.) While in the lunge, thrust the bottom of your pelvis forward.

The side part stretch. With a wall at your right, put your right foot about 3 or 4 feet from the wall. Keeping your trunk vertical, move toward the wall, crossing your left leg, bent, over the right, straight. This will cause a stretch along the outside of your hip joint

Do each stretch on each side 15 times, twice a day.

After a few weeks, I got bored, but my bursitis went away.

I feel your pain. I’ve been diagnosed with arthritis (two doctors) and tendinitis (one doctor) in my right hip. It hurts like a bastard.