Baseball - Breaking up a No-Hitter

Imagine in the following scenarios that a pitcher is pitching a no-hitter.

Scenario A: The batter hits a routine ground ball to the infield, the fielder botches the throw to first, and the ball goes into the dugout. The batter rounds first and heads for second, where he’s thrown out. Does the pitcher still retain his no-hitter?

Scenario B: The batter hits a clean single and is thrown out at second trying to stretch it to a double. Does the pitcher still retain the no-hitter?

A: Yes, because it’s an error, and errors are not hits.

B: No, because it will be ruled as a single first and foremost.

eta: balls in the dugout are immediately dead, and I do believe the batter would be given second base as a result.

In Scenario A, the batter need not be thrown out at second. He can take his base and the pitcher would still retain a no-hitter.

However, with Scenario A, if the pitcher was pitching a perfect game, that would be lost.

As for Scenario B, I’m slightly confused. Is the player being thrown out during the same play, or a different one?

Same play.

That is scored a hit, then.

To clarify, once the batter reaches first base safely, it would be scored as a hit, no matter what happens after that.

However, if the batter had somehow missed touching first base and gone to second, and the second baseman tossed the ball back to the first baseman, who then touched the bag, the batter would be called out and it would not be a hit because the batter had not actually reached first base safely.

You’ve had answers and they are correct. Assuming the first incident is ruled an error, the no-hitter is intact; however, if the ball actually goes into the dugout, it is a dead ball and the batter would be awarded second base. It’s still a no hitter though if if ti’s ruled an error.