best gun for home/office defense

If this does turn into a debate, it won’t be a great one!

I am interested in what, in the view of gun experts out there, would be the best gun for home/office defense.

As a gun owner, I was asked recently, and I responded “a pump action shotgun, shooting bird shot” – that is, 7 or 8 size shot.

My reasoning:

I don’t want to use a pistol because I know how hard it is to be accurate with a pistol. I train constantly, and it not easy.

I don’t want a powerful bullet, because if you have to shoot and you miss, you are likely to pierce several layers of dry wall before you either hit a beam or someone you did not intend to shoot.

Birdshot will definitely wound/incapacitate an intruder at close range.

Brandishing a shotgun is scary, and the sound of the pump action itself can scare someone off.

But, I am no expert in home defense. Am I wrong in my reasoning?

L.S.

Nope, you and I are in total agreement on this one, as well as with many gun writers out there. The only real argument that could arise would be that a pump gun that retains it’s legal shell blocking plug may not hold enough shots to satisfy some defense thinkers. Also, whatever you do choose to use, you should be comfortable handling and firing the weapon, so a 12ga pump shotgun may not be the best choice for everyone, but it’s a damned good choice for all the reasons that you mentioned.

I’m for the pistol side of the arguement.

Especially for the reason of being around the office–it’s just way more discreet than a longarm (like, where would you keep it?).

But then again, I shoot a lot too, and personally, I would prefer having a few more rounds in a magazine or cylinder than the typical three. But that’s just my humble opinion. FTR: When I carry, I carry a Charles Daly DDA-10, .40 SW. [sub]I’ve got “midget” hands[/sub].

Tripler
And you’re talking to the proud owner of a new Kimber BP Ten II .45 ACP as of last week. :smiley:

Well it depends.