Changing jobs in your 40s; or, steronz overshares about his mental health

I’ve struggled with anxiety and depression for as long as I can remember. It caused me to drop out of college my first go-round, and it got so bad about 3 years ago that I’m not sure how I kept my job. Around that time I found a new doctor and a medication that has helped, and I also went through a few counseling sessions. I’d say I’ve got a handle on many of my anxiety triggers, especially social anxiety which used to be a huge problem for me, but my job is still a daily challenge.

I’m a software developer, and I’ve essentially had the same job for the last 17 years. I’ve risen from a junior dev to a technical/team lead in that time, but it’s still a long time to be working on the same basic systems and dealing with the same basic issues. My mental health issues plus imposter syndrome plus the monotony have led me to take it “one day at a time.” I have to psych myself up just to log in and get through my morning meetings and get everyone tasked out for the day. Doing this every [work] day for over a decade has been… exhausting.

Of course, part of the shame spiral is feeling exhausted and struggling with a job that many would consider a dream. I’m reasonably well paid, I almost never work more than 40 hours a week, I’ve been remote for 12+ years which has allowed me to be close with my kids, and I’ve get an extreme amount of autonomy and flexibility. And yet, the thought of taking this “dream job” one day at a time for another 20 years is… it feels overwhelming, as pathetic as that sounds.