Chess: Glee v Chessic Sense

This is a training game (I’m a retired professional chess coach) and should interest spectators as well.

Chessic Sense can:

• take a move back (if he happens to blunder horribly, I’ll point that out!)
  • ask my advice on his next move
  • ask questions about strategy + tactics
  • read my running commentary on the game

I’d prefer he didn’t use a computer (I do practice against them, but this is about Chessic Sense learning for himself) and I’d appreciate spectators not making suggestions here (for the same reason.)
So here is a thread for spectator comments:

http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?p=14851105#post14851105

**N.B. If a kind soul would like to link this thread to a board position, that would be much appreciated. **

Chessic Sense, you have Black (I’m varying colours between games.)
There is no time limit (so don’t worry if real life intervenes…)
We’ll be using the standard algebraic notation (e.g. e4.)

Glee Chessic Sense

1. d4

1…NF6.

Conditional moves:
2. c4 e6
3. Nc3 Bb4 or Nf3 Bb4+

1. Nf3 e6

Game here.

Glee Chessic Sense
1.d4 Nf6
2. c4 e6
3. Nc3 Bb4
4. a3

(if 4. … Bxc3+ 5. bxc3)

Thanks to Chessic Sense for conditionals (which speed the game up) and to Mosier for his helpful diagrams. :slight_smile:

This opening for Black is the Nimzo-Indian defence (named after Grandmaster Nimzovich) and I am playing the Saemisch variation.
White gets the two bishops and a pawn majority in the centre. However this comes with doubled pawns, giving an interesting, unbalanced* game.
I have played this a lot as Black, so it should be fun to try the White side of things.

*unbalanced in rhe sense of ‘not likely to end in a draw’, rather than crazy!

Glee Chessic Sense
1.d4 Nf6
2. c4 e6
3. Nc3 Bb4
4. a3 Bxc3+
5. bxc3 b6
Glee, should I be making commentary on my moves here or in the other thread? Am I even allowed in the other thread?