College Nightlife (looking for an alternative to parties, if any exist)

Right, so many of you have probably already read threads by me before.

I’m a freshman at Drexel University in Philadelphia, I’m painfully shy, and I’m a Comp Sci major, so there are no women in my classes.

I’m feeling rather lost and hopeless as to how I can meet people, preferably women. I figured parties are the best bet. Well, after browsing pictures on our colleges party site, I was rather shocked and a little scared of some of the behaviors I saw. Basically after looking at the site I have come to the realization that parties aren’t for me. I probably wouldn’t want to get involved with a girl who drinks, smokes pot, or does some of the semi-raunchy stuff that seem to go on at said parties. So I need an alternative.

I’m asking for alternate nightlife suggestions, if such a thing exists. I really, really want to meet women. Hell, one would be fine. Quite frankly, I’m absolutely desperate. Where should I go? What should I look for? Is it hopeless?

Clubs. I don’t mean the dancin’ kind, either. Well, kinda. Read on.

Odds are you either have billions of chalk drawings all over the sidewalks, or fliers duct taped to the ground. I prefer the chalk, myself, as it usually looks nicer and washes away on its own. Anyhow, these are usually advertisements for various clubs. If, by some chance, you don’t have either of these methods of enticement, peruse your school’s website or newspaper for mention of clubs and student activities you can join in. Find something (preferably outside your major) and jump in.

Swing dancing clubs are a good choice, because swing dancing is cool, the whole POINT of the club is to dance with women, and there are usually tons more women than men. Other good choices might be the student newspaper or the radio station.