Complaints from the other side of the shop

Bah…

Pretty much every complaint I’ve seen about shop service has been from the customers. Now its my turn [evil grinning smilie].
I’ve been working Saturdays for the past six months in a motorway service station (Yes, I’m English. I’ve spoken to a couple of Americans and they seem to have nothing comparable. Basically a service station is a shop along the motorway / highway that sells meals, drinks, magazines, sweets etc. for shocking prices)

What people don’t understand is that I am not responsible for the prices. Management are. Swearing at me, accusing me of lying, throwing coins at me :frowning: will not make any difference. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve been looked in the eye and told the prices are “fucking disgusting”, before people pay. And they will pay. I’ve only ever had a couple of customers put their food back and walk out.

Being called a liar is the worst part. People honestly believe that I have seen them and thought “Hmm… he looks rich, I’ll charge him £1.30.” Its ridiculous.

I know that £1.30 for a cup of tea is disgusting. Well don’t pay it! There are plenty of shops a couple of minutes away that offer much cheaper prices. People won’t go there though.

Complaining to my manager is another favourite trick. What can he do? He doesn’t set the prices. If I’m too firm with people, and tell them “Thats the price, I can’t do anything about it”, they complain I’ve been an ass. If I try to reason with them, then I’m argumentative.

So, people, what is it you have against us “poor” slaes assistants?

http://www.customerssuck.com

Some shameless promotion for my “boss”…
:smiley:

Ever get people who give you an ultimatum, or try to bargain or haggle with you?

“Yes, I know it says that it’s $150 (this is in my store, FTR). Tell you what, I’ll give you $125 for it and we’ll call it even.”

“I cant do that, sir.”

“Well why not? Who would know/care?”