Death to Smoochy- Best Movie Ever

I watched Death to Smoochy last night. Why isn’t the greatness of this masterpiece recognized?

The casting and acting is perfect. Every actor was at their best. The writing is snappy and funny. The costumes are amazing. The cinematography is perfect (have you ever seen so many beautiful transitions?) and the art design is breathtaking. It’s pretty rare to see a movie with that much care put into the art design.

I’m a film student, and whenever people ask me what kinds of films I want make, I never know what to say. Now I know. I want to make films as good as Death to Smoochy.

It’s always nice to see young film students with attainable goals.

I saw Death to Smoochy last winter, after I’d seen Fight Club. I couldn’t get enough of Edward Norton!

I loved Smoochy- It was funny, original…all that. How many other movies include a children’s entertainer being branded as a Nazi? (No, this is NOT your cue to go onto the imdb and come up with a list of 40 year old films that have done this previously!)

Let me just add that Rainbow Randolph is one of the most uniquely disturbed characters of all time.

I loved this movie, and was perversely pleased to see it so widely panned. Mark my words, this movie has “future cult hit” written all over it. I say, jump on the bandwagon early, so you can thumb your nose at all the Smoochies-come-latelies ten years from now who are going to be organizing midnight screenings and dressing up like plush, purple rhinos.

I loved this movie, too. I don’t know exactly why but I just find it utterly hilarious. You think of kids’ TV shows as being so innocent…and then you get Rainbow Randolph. Hehehe.

oooh, skewering barney is so edgy… especially 3 or 4 years after the height of his popularity.
but it was a decent movie, better than most, i guess.

I loved it too. Especially Ed Norton–I don’t know if I would have even liked the movie 1/2 as much if another actor was cast in that role.