Do any other parents get the weeekend off?

I don’t mean like in a divorce situation, I mean that the kids are capable of handling the household without much parental involvement. See, I made a decision that my boys can care for themselves when they reach adulthood, so in addtition to having chores, I and my wife have taught them to cook.

The 13 year can make anything I can, including pancakes from scratch, and I’m a very good cook. The 11 year old can make chicken, pizza and spaghetti as well as tacos and burritoes. The 9 y/o is short for his age so we haven’t taught him yyet, but he can order out or heat things up in the microwave. Consequently the wife and I don’t have to cook on Friday and Saturday, and if we’re feeling really lazy Chris the 9 year old can order out.
It’s really cool, they pick what they want to make. I only have to get involved if they need ingredients not in the house, and even then I only have to get out my wallet as there is a Supermarket across the street. By the way I’ve also taught them to comparison shop. That doesn’t always work out so well, as once Jock bought something back that claimed to be cheese, but was more like plastic. But thems the breaks.

Yep, sure do.

My boys are 17 and 13. They take care of themselves pretty much.

We cook during the week, and I do cook on the weekends, because it’s when I can really play while cooking and experiment, but they are always right there with me, it’s like I have 4 extra hands, chopping, grabbing things (especially useful is my 17 y/o who is 6’1" or so, to get items from high shelves), mixing, stirring, whatever.

My hubby and I can even go down and spend a night in the city and know they are capable of keeping the place under control, and taking care of themselves.