Dropping a class - can I still get into grad school?

I dropped my Calc II class today. Part of me feels bad about that; I may not have given it much of a chance. Part of me feels relieved; I went to three lectures and much of it was going over my head.

I took Calc I last spring and got an A-. It wasn’t nearly as hard as I had thought it would be. I studied for it, but not with as much effort as I have put into other classes. I thought I was good at calculus because I generally did very well on quizzes and exams without too much effort.

I just wasn’t grasping this Calc II stuff - inverse, exponential, logrithmic functions? :smack: That’s what we covered so far, and I sat through the lectures, I read the relavent chapters in the book, I reviewed my Calc I notes, I even read parts of my Calculus for Dummies book over the weekend, and today in class I was still going WTF? is this prof talking about! This afternoon was the breaking point. I had struggled over the assigned homework problems and went to the library to look at the student solutions manual (we don’t turn in homework, so this is OK). The manual has the problems worked out and I still couldn’t grasp how they were solved. :frowning:

Calc II isn’t required for me, a geology major to graduate; I took it because I thought it would look good or even be required when I apply for grad school. Does anyone know how this might affect my application? I know not all schools will require a whole year of calculus, but I don’t have a lot of knowledge about that.

Short answer: No. And a “Drop” looks a helluva lot better to grad schools than an “F.”

Long answer: Need a little more info. What sort of graduate school are you interested in?

I’m a geology major with at least 2 more years of undergrad left. Grad school to get my master’s in geology, concentrating on I-don’t-know-what yet.

I may decide to take Calc II at a later date, but I feel if I don’t get it now, waiting a year isn’t going tojhelp matters any.