Ever been screwed over by Parking Enforcement?

I’m tired of this. It’s the third time since I’ve lived in DC that I’ve been given a bogus parking ticket. I’m taking about a ticket that is just plain fraudulent. Right out front of my home, where I have been parking for 12 years. I was squarly between the green (“OK to park here”) signs with my front bumper sticking past the sign maybe three inches (the signs are so close together that it’s impossible to park anything but a toaster oven this space without either your front or rear bumber sticking out a few inches).

I went to have a hearing yesterday, thinking that this has got to be a mistake. How can you post signs that identify a place as legal to park and then give a ticket to anybody who tries to park there? Well the hearing examiner was not impressed with my point of view. He basically said that even if one molecule of my car’s bumper was sticking out past the sign, I was in a no standing zone and subject to the $50 fine. When I mentioned that the signs were very close together, his reply was that is my car was too large to fit in this space then I shouldn’t be parking there. I think I’ll have some signs made up that say “Toaster Oven Parking Only”.

FTR, my area is one of the three most crowded areas in DC as far as parking goes (the other two are DuPont & Adams Morgan), but I could see from his stony expression that any pleas for leniency based on this reason would have been useless.

I realize that these signs are there for a reason. You can’t be parked too close to the corner otherwise the budwiser truck can’t make that right turn without taking your bumber off, but for cripes sakes why in the hell did some parking enforcement drone look at my car and say “Whoa! That car is jutting out way past the green sign and obstructing traffic! I had better issue a citation right away!”

Everybody repeat after me: Quotas