Fake Radio and TV Stations in Fiction

What fake radio and TV stations exist in fiction? Obviously, there’re a lot, but I thought it might be fun to compile a bit of a list.

There’s WGBS broadcasting in Superman’s Metropolis.

In Airplane!, there’s WZAZ-FM, “Where disco lives forever” - call sign modelled on the names of the writers : Zucker, Abrahams, Zucker.

WKRP in Cincinnati

KBBL (from the Simpsons)

WXYZ was Billy Batston’s station in the original Captain Marvel
Just before I left Salt Lake City, WKRP started broadcasting from there. No joke (as they had to keep repeating).
And, yes, WKRP, even though it was west of the Mississippi. he rule’s not ironclad.

Back when I was an undergrad, WTBS used to be the MIT student radio station, by the way. Turner musta paid big bucks to buy it. It use to be Tech Broadcasting System. Now they have some undistinguished name with numbers in it.

WNYX in New York, from Newsradio.

WABBIT in various Loony Tunes shorts.

And their chief competitor: WPIG.

And in Wayne’s World 2, we see a different WPIG, in Aurora.

KCUF in Thomas Pynchon’s The Crying of Lot 49, a set of call letters that quite clearly would never meet FCC approval. :wink:

Spell it backwards.

WPLJ in the Frank Zappa song. Later, a station in New York City took the call letters, so it now exists, but it was fictional when Zappa wrote the song.

WINO from George Carlin (“Wonderful Radio Wino!”)

Network 23 from Max Headroom

WENN, on the show “Remember WENN” on AMC.

The 275-watt Radio OKKK in the Tuna two-man plays.

[Arthur Carlson] Those swine! [/AC]

**WOLD **in the Harry Chapin song.

The Wireless Wizarding Network (WWN) in the Harry Potter books.

KBLY (K-Billy) - Reservoir Dogs.

ZBC (Zoblotnick Broadcasting Corporation) – David Lynch’s On The Air.

Rutland Weekend Television , from whence came the film The Ruttles .

Babylon 5’s ISN, which provided a seemingly objective view into the doings of Earth. Until season 3’s “Severed Dreams”, when…