Famous friends

Do any of you lot have friends that you went to school with, who went on to become famous in some field; sports, movies, art, science etc.

Nope.

Yes

The only one who comes close is Phil Alden Robinson, who directed Field of Dreams. We worked at the radio station together, but we weren’t exactly close.

Maybe.

Moderator Action

This is more of a poll than a factual question.

Moving thread from General Questions to In My Humble Opinion.

Nobody noteworthy. One person was famous before she went to my high school, she had a bit role in Karate Kid 2. The next most famous person was a victim of the Xerox shooter.

Kind of. I mean, I graduated with these guys, but I wouldn’t call us friends. Of course, the first one is “related” to me only because his dog bred my dog and they had puppies. :stuck_out_tongue:

Person One is a late 1990s Indy car season champion and Person Two played pro B-ball for the Kings until he suicided.

I went to high school with an Olympic gold and bronze medal winner. Also with a kid who was later secretary of the Army.

Did they know me? Only as the geeky kid in the school library who checked books out to them.

If I really thought about I could probably think of a few people that I sort of maybe know or that I’ve met along the way or that my parents or relatives have met or know (ie my aunt used to babysit for Heather Graham, my parents went to school with the Zuckers but didn’t know them) but I don’t think any of that counts.

Off the top of my head the most famous person I know is a friend of mine that took home first place on Sweet Genius. If you watch the show, she was the one covered in tattoos on last year’s Halloween episode.

People who are famous now went to my high school, but I wasn’t actually friends with any of them back then.