Favourite Stand-up Comedian?

I love watching good stand-up comedy- it never fails to raise a smile and brighten my day . Really good stand-up can also raise and deal with important issues, IMO. So, who’s your favourite??

I’m no expert in this field, but I can confidently say that there can be few funnier men on the face of the Earth than the divine Eddie Izzard

I just love the surreal world he creates in his shows- cats drilling behind the sofa, then staging a Great Escape style breakout, dogs who aren’t happy with their wash, Moses zooming about in a speed boat with all the animals with big ears down the side- I could go on all day. Plus, he also manages to slip in a few interesting serios points here and there, like the difference between life philoshophies (sp?) and religions, for example.

I also like the little I’ve heard of Billy Connelly, and Jack Dee (Brit. comedian famous for acting very grumpy- may not be well known across the pond.) And I know Bill Hicks is a name that crops up a lot when this topic is brought up- I’ve heard a little of his stuff, and liked it a lot- but what would you recommend? and why exactly is he so darn good?

O.k, so lets sort it out, right here, right now- who are the funniest stand-ups ever?

Lewis Black’s my favorite. He eloquates my own inner frustration and anger so beautifully.

I really like Stephen Wright and Fred Stoller, for their deadpan, downcast, lonely-loser schtick. And Wright makes excellent “Deep Thoughts”-style observations.

Bill Hicks, god rest his soul.

Dammit, Hanza, as soon as I saw this thread title, Eddie Izzard was the first person that sprang to mind! And you beat me to it! :slight_smile:

I love his comedy - so bizzare, so inspired. I tried to get tickets to see him last time I was in Seattle, but they were sold out.

Hard to beat Seinfeld.

Can’t go wrong with Chris Rock.