File associations in Win-10.

Under older versions of windows, if you opened the file associations menu, with each file, if you wanted to change the associations, one of the options was to browse until you located the executable (usually an .exe file) you wanted to associate with a given file type. In the latest version of Win-10, it is no longer specify the executable by browsing.

The particular file type I am looking at is .tex and it is associated with something called texworks, which is an editor I have never used. I would like to associate it with the editor I do use, but when I click on it, the only option I am given is that or go to the MS app store. Incidentally, my editor, which I have been using for 33 years is not installed by the MS installer, but by just putting it into a file. It does not show up in the list of apps at all.

Any way around this?

They make it annoying, but it is still there.

Right click the file,** Open With**, select Choose another app, check the Always use this app to open .tex files box, scroll to the bottom and select More apps, scroll to the bottom again and select Look for another app on this PC. Browse to the executable and it should then remember the association.

Here is what I did. From settings, I clicked on apps. Then Default apps, then Choose default apps by file type. Then I scrolled down to the .tex level and tried right clicking both the .tex icon and the texworks icon. Nothing. Then I clicked on the texworks icon and a little window opened giving the choice of texworks or an app from the store. I tried right clicking on everything in site to no effect.

There was no Open with choice nor the rest of what you said. The problem, as best as I can guess, is that the editor was not installed by the windows installer and presumably has no registry entry and is not on the list of all the “apps”. I just sent MS feedback saying that every upgrade of windows makes it harder and harder to use.