For the Older Ladies

This ties in to the drinking on Saturday night, and a vanity post I read earlier.
Do you ever look in the mirror and see yourself, agewise as you are now, and wonder wtf happened? There are days I look and I’m quite chuffed with my appearance ready to tackle the world, and then there are days, where I see every line, every ugly feature, and I wonder how I thought I was hot. If anyone has and are willing to admit to this, what’s the best cure…besides more beer?

I don’t drink, but…

Friday I really looked at myself as I was washing my hands and noticed that those lines in my forehead were looking more like gouges. It had been a stressful day at the end of a stressful week and I went in and asked one of my underlings, “Hey, are the lines in my forehead usually this deep or am I just stressing?”

She looked at me like I’m crazy.

Big effin’ help.

Well, I’m only beginning to see proof of aging on my own appearance, a gray hair now and then, some little wrinkles, and the urge to shake my fist at teenagers. I sometimes look in the mirror and think I look great, then I’ll look and see exactly the same thing but think I look terrible. I’m sure it’s my mental attitude at the time. I see the same thing in my female friends and family members; they’ll complain that they look bad one day when all I see is the same women/woman who has always been there. The “cure” is to rise above self doubt…easier said than done, I know.

All the damn time.

Cure? Hell if I know. Acceptance, I guess.

I’m a 49-year-old guy, and not trying to be particularly gallant here, but I’m finding ladies around my age (with graying hair, and other signs of aging) to be very attractive. Maybe not as consistently as I found women my own age when my testosterone levels were higher (i.e., out of control), but I’m surprised by how little my perceptions of female attractiveness is affected by age.

[hijack]